Which forum software offers the best photo/video gallery implementation?

heath84

Neophyte
Hello. I am new to all of this and am seeking to host a community forum that has a good photo and video gallery for members to use. I have been messing around with MyBB but their native photo uploading kind of sucks and the plugins I saw for it were... not very good for what I am looking for. Also, the MyBB isn't as mobile friendly as I would like. I paid for the emerald extended theme, which is beautiful and I love it, just didn't realize the lack of photo gallery options for MyBB before I purchased it unfortunately.
Perhaps some of y'all could recommend what software you think I should get?

Other desirable features:
  • User profiles with ratings
  • Shopping cart function
  • Private messaging
  • Directory services (not mandatory but would be a plus)
  • Wide variety of (updated) responsive themes to choose from
  • Clean and modern(ish) feel
  • MOBILE FRIENDLY (must)
  • Advertiser friendly
Not sure what else I would want, but these are just a few off the top of my head things I am interested in. I am not well versed in web development, but I have dabbled and can learn as I go... I think. I am on a budget and am not looking to spend a lot since this is self funded. I already have web domains and hosting through namecheap.

Thanks!

heath84

Neophyte
Whats your forum subject then? I'm assuming photography?
Community with a strong emphasis on photography I suppose. However, I pulled the trigger on Xenforo due to their media gallery. Thanks.

R0binHood

Habitué
Xenforo 1 with Sonnb's Media Gallery

(Although I don't actually recommend you go with this exact combination due to the lack of recent development of an XF2 version of Son's gallery. But the original version is still my favourite from the past few years)

haqzore

Devotee
Even though this thread is essentially done (since you've already purchased XF), I think IPS would've been a better fit.