Webhost server error messages

DigNap15

Adherent
Hello
I am trying to work on my error messages to make my system run better
But when I print out or view the error log I get lots of the following error messages

2021-03-17 05:32:22 UTC [apache][php7:error] [pid 31592] [client 71.196.245.90:12136] script '/home/customer/www/myforum.com/public_html/wp-login.php' not found or unable to stat

I have a xenforo forum and a handcoded html webiste on the same webhost server.

It looks like they are looking for a word press site. (I don't have one)

Can anyone suggest what is causing the error, are these bots breaking into to my system?

Last edited:

zappaDPJ

Administrator
I'm no expert but the error you've posted suggests to me that a script vulnerability scanner is probing your installation but failed to gain entry.

If I'm right I'd be inclined to check the other errors to ensure the same outcome. I'd also consider ramping up your security.

snerd

Aspirant
I'm getting them too. All kinds of WP probes, then some like myforum.com/env and myforum.com/public/env and on and on. Most I just enter a redirect to / while discovering these addresses using the 404 not found addon.

Pete

Flavours of Forums Forever
Yup, it’s quicker and easier for them to just try all the obvious vulnerabilities than it is to actually see what your site has first. Seeing hits to WP-login is not uncommon, also I see a lot of things try to hunt down phpMyAdmin too.

DigNap15

Adherent
Yup, it’s quicker and easier for them to just try all the obvious vulnerabilities than it is to actually see what your site has first. Seeing hits to WP-login is not uncommon, also I see a lot of things try to hunt down phpMyAdmin too.
Yes, I also get a lot of those hits for phpMyAdmin

I'm not sure if they are getting into my forum, or my webiste
So what I want to know now, is how can I stop them getting in this far.