The Power of Perception - 10 Commonly Made Mistakes

Joshuad

Developer
Joshuad submitted a new Article:

About

Welcome to another article written in effort to right the typical wrongs of new webmasters as well as blog/forum administrators. In this slight introduction, I'm a long time webmaster with nearly 13 years of experience under my belt, working with several top notch websites along the way. I'm in no sense an expert because I believe that in everything there is always room for improvement within yourself as well as new things to learn, but hopefully my own endeavors can help others in being successful in their projects.

As always, I've split this article into several sections to define several of the problems that I've seen new webmasters make, as well as mistakes that I've made in the distant and recent past. Keep in mind that these are my personal opinions, but I would consider all scenarios mentioned something to pay attention to.

A lot of these scenarios are strictly forum based, but several of them can be reanalyzed and translated into a blog scenario or even a static content driven site.

This article is exclusive to Drake Technologies and The Admin Zone, but if you would like to use this article for your own website be sure to leave a source link. I hope this is an enjoyable read, as I've enjoyed writing it.

Section 1: The Unseen Webmaster

This will be a forum scenario, as the website/blog scenario is covered rather in depth in sections to come. So, turn on your forum mindset. Have you ever browsed a forum and noticed the online list to see several active users and zero staff? Browsed the forum team and noticed that only a small handful of them have even logged on in the past week? I've seen it far too often when I was a forum reviewer at TAZ, but considering I had to be friendly; I was never able to mention it. Considering I am a good man, I'm not going to mention the forums I'm talking about either.