Feedback TAZ home page - shockwave flash

bernard

Enthusiast
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
136
I've got the TAZ home page (domain root) bookmarked. Every time I visit TAZ from the bookmark, it takes forever to load. I see a dark block at the top right of the page and after a while, I get the Unresponsive plugin warning:
Shockwave Flash may be busy, or it may have stopped responding. You can stop the plugin now, or you can continue to see if the plugin will complete.
It's real annoying. I don't have this issue with other XF based forums I visit, so I assume it's something TAZ added on. I don't know what value such addon is offering TAZ owners, but as a user, it's definitely a net negative in my book.
 

Paul M

Limeade Addict
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
3,902
I would guess its the advert.

They seem to load fine for me when I try, so maybe the flash plugin on your browser is having issues.
 

KimmiKat

Adherent
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
337
I usually have Flash blocked, since it should've been put out of it's misery long ago. Non flash ads come through OK though.
 

bernard

Enthusiast
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
136
* bump *

The issue is not ads. It's something on the TAZ site. Ads don't display progress meters as they load.

That said, the issue has greatly diminished recently. I am guessing TAZ upgraded the site to XF 2.1 and something is working differently now. I still see the "dark block progress meter" thing, but it processes fast now and I don't get the busy message any more.
 

bernard

Enthusiast
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
136
Firefox / Windows XP. I see the "dark block progress meter" when I post a reply too.
 

Taylor J

Fan
Joined
Mar 13, 2010
Messages
798
The only thing I could suggest is for firefox is to disable all of the extensions you have enabled then re enable one by one to see which one could be causing it. If none are causing it then you may be out of luck and could be due to the old OS/Browser version you are using.
 
Top