Similar Threads - Limit Thread Age? Bumping Old Threads

ProWeb

Enthusiast
When we updated to XF 2.2, we enabled the "similar threads" feature that comes with "enhanced search".

... and soon thereafter we got a bunch of people complaining about it because people were reading old threads from years ago, and replying / bumping them.

I know we can enable the lookback window / timeframe for how old the threads are that are pulled up, but I argue that since our content is super evergreen (how to care for your garden vs. which cell phone is best), that a thread from 10 years ago is often as relevant and helpful as one a week old.

(plus, I'm hoping the replies to old threads could potentially bring back some old members).

Overall I think the pros of having the feature AND having it use all our content, even from 10 years ago, outweigh the cons.

What do you guys think?

TLChris

Administrator
I turned them off of my sites.

As an admin I agree with everything you said, but as a user I found them not as useful. So worked for me.

zappaDPJ

Administrator
What do you guys think?

I think when older content is not wanted or required it's time to close the forum and go to Facebook. I make a point of telling my members revisiting old content is very welcome providing there is some context within the reply.

I also turn off similar thread functions because in my view there is simply not enough intelligence behind them. It's an area where I'd like to see a lot more development time spent so that similar threads really are relevant to the member's viewing history.

palhanow

Enthusiast
I think Enhanced/Elastic Search should be free as any other platforms offer, even MyBB, an open-source software offer the plugin if I'm not mistaken.

I was planning to use the 'Similar Threads' and buy Enhanced Search on my Forum, but when using the official XF site, it looks a little 'polluted', annoying me every time that i post something.