Setting up for https, how will it affect vb 3?

Panzer Max

Neophyte
Joined
Apr 25, 2015
Messages
6
Looks like we will need to install the SSL certificate for https, and I am told that will mean a lot of changes to existing html where relative links were used. How will this affect our vB 3.8.4 forum? Has anyone done this? Maybe you can tell me what to expect. :)
 

BirdOPrey5

#Awesome
Joined
Aug 14, 2008
Messages
4,217
The only thing you need to do from a forum / technical standpoint is create a replacement variable for each style you use. Replace http://www.example.com with https://www.example.com (your forum URL of course) and then edit the forum URL in Admin CP -> Settings -> Options -> Site Name / URL / Contact Details.

Make sure the site is working via https before you make these changes.

This won't help old posts where people embedded http images using
IMG bbcode but there is no easy fix for that.
 

Panzer Max

Neophyte
Joined
Apr 25, 2015
Messages
6
So, you're saying I need to have the certificate installed and then change the Site Name / URL / Contact Details inthe Admin CP.

If I change the url setting and there's a problem, can I still get back to the admin CP to revert it?
 

KimmiKat

Adherent
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
346
I think you just replace the https with the old http. As for images, if most were on photobucket, no loss there since that site charges an arm and leg now for photo hosting.
 

BirdOPrey5

#Awesome
Joined
Aug 14, 2008
Messages
4,217
Install the certificate first.

Upload a basic .php file to the forum directory like test.php with code:

PHP:
<?php
  phpinfo();
Browse to the file via HTTP make sure it works
Then browse to it via HTTPS, make sure that works too.

If both work then it's a pretty good bet your certificate is installed correctly. Delete the test.php file.

Then go to Site Name / URL / Contact Details in Admin CP., make changes to https.

Then make the replacement variable I suggest

If everything is still working at this point you can use an .htaccess file redirect to force all traffic to HTTPS on your server.
 

Paul M

Limeade Addict
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
3,941
You may have a few issues with 3.8.4, it dates from a time when https usage was rare.

A number of changes were made in the last vB3 version (3.8.11) to allow https to work without any (known) issues,
 
Top