Just switched to Burning Board

surfingseacow

Aspirant
It promises not to be an easy road to change :)

So far struggling with a bunch of things, such as the parsing of smilies, figuring out how to get a quick reply field (like you guys have here) etc.

Going to look around and steal some ideas from other forums. I'm not tech savvy enough to create my own solutions :)

If anyone has some usefull hints and pointers, for example, really good plug-ins, mods etc. Feel free to share.

surfingseacow

Aspirant
I added quick reply the by adding Javascript to the footer code field in acp > options > general

Code:
<script>
    //<![CDATA[
    $(function () {
        $('#messageQuickReply').show().find('button[data-type="cancel"]').hide();
        $('.jsQuickReply').hide();
    });
    //]]>
</script>

It works, but not sure if that is the best way to do it.

Last edited:

Sherrie

Fan
It's pretty daunting in that the community is mostly German but it's good software and worth the challenge, good luck :)

Sherrie

Fan
For me, vBulletin 4.2. My forum was becoming unusable due to problems with the editor and double posting and vbulletin support didn't even answer my thread on their support forums. In my mind I was already moving to burning board anyway because I hated vB4 the longer I used it but I was hoping to wait until bb4.1 was released but the posting issues got so bad I made the switch early. It was worth the money spent unlike my upgrade to vb5 license!

In 2016 I believe there will be more updates to Woltlab with the integration of a CMS into their framework and maybe even bb 4.2 (I hope)

I did consider xenforo, originally when I was considering upgrading my vb3 forum but their forum and the absence of the developers at the time put me off. I considered it again when considering burning board but burning board appealed to me more so I took the risk.

surfingseacow

Aspirant