Just ordered a VPS from OVH

Doctor 404

Developing is Cool
I just ordered a VPS from OVH and got some stuff setup.

The problem i have is that even though i managed to do this stuff by myself (Setup the gameservers, mysql and voiceservers) i think im missing stuff that i must certainly not know (Im not very tech savvy about linux based systems).

The Firewall im using atm is UFW (Due to massive attacks on the community, not that i got attacked, but i will get attacked once my GameServer is up and running, kids like to play with fire... you know.). So i was wondering, what are the best ways to setup an Ubuntu Server, something like: Security Measures you take, things to have in mind, suggestions on how to protect it, etc. I been reading a bit but learned almost nothing, tested with a fairly large Botnet and asked a friend to attack it with a Stresser.

The botnet didn't even touched the server (I still have to tweak the mitigation as it locks everybody out of the server) and the Stresser lagged the heck out of my Service.

Any ideas on how to prevent or atleast mitigate this?

Thanks in advance!

Deathstarr

Forum Owner
CFS - Config Firewall is a good one
Mod_Security

and just use good passwords and change regularly.

Doctor 404

Developing is Cool
CFS - Config Firewall is a good one
Mod_Security

and just use good passwords and change regularly.
Is the Mod_Security a Must have for the VPS itself security? I remember it from Apache but i won't be using Apache on my VPS (Already own an Unlimited plan on 1and1 for a year :p). About the firewall, i'll take a look and see what i can find, thanks!

Tracy Perry

Opinionated asshat
IThe botnet didn't even touched the server (I still have to tweak the mitigation as it locks everybody out of the server) and the Stresser lagged the heck out of my Service.

Any ideas on how to prevent or atleast mitigate this?