Interview: Paul M

• Admin

Lisa

Chaotically Proportional
Morganna submitted a new Article:

Interview: Paul M

Paul M is an administrator on vBulletin.org Forum - The Official vBulletin Resource!. He kindly agreed to an interview for us and so, without further ado - here it is :giggle:

For those who do not know you, could you provide a little information about yourself?
My name is Paul Marsden, I am 47, married with three daughters. I live just outside Nottingham (UK). I am a software engineer for Perceptive Informatics.

With regards to your "who's online script? I'm always surprised with each release of the vbulletin software this wasn't added? why do you think this is?
I have no idea, it always surprises me as well. In the past, Jelsoft seemed to resist adding popular mods, I never understood why. I think its the most popular mod I know of, judging by google searches its installed on many thousands of sites.

What is your opinion on open-source software versus paid solutions?
I dont really have one. Both have there place in the world, and there are good and bad examples of each.

What advice would you give to anyone about to start out coding in vBulletin?
Download a few mods and look at how things are done - but dont just copy things you dont understand, work out for yourself how/why it works. Also, install a test site you can break without consequence.

What advice would you give to anyone who wanted to learn about coding in general?
I try not to give advice. The only thing I would say is always try to test stuff as much as you can, and dont worry when people find bugs, its a fact of life that bugs happen. As long as you fix them in a timely manner, people will generally accept it.

What projects are you working on right now?