In need of motherboard for Acer Veriton M4630G PC

PoetJC

⚧ Jacquii: Kween of Hearts ⚧
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
21,043
So..... I'm having an issue with my PC... I thought it was the power supply, but after buying and installing a new PSU, I find out its my motherboard at issue. Or so I think anyway. Had a power surge at the house a few days ago and my PC hasn't worked ever since. After taking it apart to install my new power supply - I see a spot on the motherboard that is a bit fried. So....

I have a question I hope someone will be able to answer. How do I find which motherboards are compatible with my system? I'd like an OEM replacement, same as the original, but am having a bit of a time finding any OEM replacements for sale. Please advise as to the exact type of replacement that would work for my system, which can be see at https://www.cnet.com/products/acer-veriton-m4630g-...

Original Specs:
  • Acer Veriton M4630G
  • Core i7-4770 Processor (3.4GHz Clock Speed, 3.9GHz Max Turbo, 8MB Intel Smart Cache, Quad-Core)
  • Chipset: Intel B85 Express
  • Memory: 8GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory, Max Capacity of 32GB
  • Hard Drive: 1TB 7200RPM SATA2 Hard Drive
  • Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Upgraded Additions for Gaming
  • 16GB RAM
  • Asus Strix GTX 970 GPU
  • 500GB SSD
  • 750 Watt PSU
Thanks for all assistance.

J.
 
Last edited:

PoetJC

⚧ Jacquii: Kween of Hearts ⚧
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
21,043
Joeychgo Alex. eva2000 Steve zappaDPJ Danielx64 -- you and others I can't think of at the moment have been much help over the years as concerns my myriad questions/concerns about upgrading computer components and such. I'd very much appreciate you guys' expertise and guidance now. :notworthy:

Cheers and hope everyone's enjoying the Thanksgiving holiday!

J.
 

haqzore

Devotee
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
2,348
  • Core i7-4770 Processor (3.4GHz Clock Speed, 3.9GHz Max Turbo, 8MB Intel Smart Cache, Quad-Core)
  • Memory: 8GB DDR3 SDRAM
  • Hard Drive: 1TB 7200RPM SATA2 Hard Drive
  • Asus Strix GTX 970 GPU
These are the things that need to be compatible.
If those fit, any motherboard will work.

The hard drive (SATA2) and GPU are likely universal at this point.
 

zappaDPJ

Administrator
Joined
Aug 26, 2010
Messages
7,273
Although I agree with what's already been said, if there's a visual indication that the motherboard has been damaged through a power surge then other components may also be damaged. This is one occasion I would consider taking your PC to a reputable repair shop for a fault diagnosis.
 

LeadCrow

Apocalypse Admin
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
6,578
How do I find which motherboards are compatible with my system?
Socket for the processor, and your current ram modules 'speeds' (timings dont matter). Ram shouldnt be a problem normally since its specs evolve alongside motherboard generations. As suggested above, do consider a professional 3rdparty opinion. A local repair job from technicians with access to part suppliers could save you time and worry.

If you like to live dangerously, PcPartPicker's compatibility filter will give you a list of motherboards that should be compatible with your current machine (cpu socket/lga1150 - chipset b85 - ddr3 ram - micro ATX form factor visibly).
 

PoetJC

⚧ Jacquii: Kween of Hearts ⚧
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
21,043
Thanks so much for the info and suggestions guys! Much appreciation. I have been considering taking the system to a professional, but honestly... Two word: the cash!!! (sigh...) Not only that - but my goto computer guru closed his shop a few months ago and idk kinda have trust issues, which I probably shouldn't even care about lol. Hopefully will figure something out in the coming days. And hopefully the damage is limited to the motherboard arg! Again = I appreciate all the feedback. Cheers! :tup:

J.
 

eva2000

Habitué
Joined
Jan 11, 2004
Messages
1,778
Joeychgo Alex. eva2000 Steve zappaDPJ Danielx64 -- you and others I can't think of at the moment have been much help over the years as concerns my myriad questions/concerns about upgrading computer components and such. I'd very much appreciate you guys' expertise and guidance now. :notworthy:

Cheers and hope everyone's enjoying the Thanksgiving holiday!

J.
Slightly out of touch with PC specific hardware as I have been using laptops for past few years heh.

Might want to switch to custom built pc desktop and not branded like Acer one as it would be easier to replace components that failed.
 

PoetJC

⚧ Jacquii: Kween of Hearts ⚧
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
21,043
Slightly out of touch with PC specific hardware as I have been using laptops for past few years heh.

Might want to switch to custom built pc desktop and not branded like Acer one as it would be easier to replace components that failed.
Ah... If I had the cash it's exact what I'd do. Any clue on winning powerball numbers then? Lol

Hope you're doing well dude,

J.
 

LeadCrow

Apocalypse Admin
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
6,578
Unless you need specific support for their proprietary extensions, a Ryzen processor with an AMD graphic card should last longer on a budget than an equivalent solution. The same motherboard will also last for many more processor generations, unlike with Intel whose processor upgrades typically require newer motherboards as well.
 

PoetJC

⚧ Jacquii: Kween of Hearts ⚧
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
21,043
Okay. I'm now poised to make a purchase and have the techs at our local Staples install, if indeed the install process might seem a bit too daunting when the time comes... I've been doing a lot of research as well and have a few options in mind. However I'm not quite clear on one thing and will ask you guys for clarification. It may be somewhat a stupid question but I need to know so here goes...

My CPU has the Intel B85 chipset / LGA 1150 socket. Does the actual motherboard chipset absolutely have to be B85 chipset as well?

I've read here -- and this is what I'm a bit unsure of -- that as long as the CPU's generation and socket number match, the actual chipset number can invariably be one as listed in the chart below:

Socket:
LGA 1150

Chipsets:
H81, B85, Q85, Q87, H87, Z87, H97, Z97
So although my PCU has the B85 chipset - the motherboard itself could have say the Z97 chipset -- like the ASRock Z97 EXTREME6 -- if all other specifics match the PCU.

Is this true? Someone please clarify.
Also - if true - what do you guys think of the ASRock motherboard as an option? Decent choice or naw?

Thanks and hope everyone's having an enjoyable weekend!

J.
 

LeadCrow

Apocalypse Admin
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
6,578
My CPU has the Intel B85 chipset / LGA 1150 socket. Does the actual motherboard chipset absolutely have to be B85 chipset as well?
LGA 1150 is the physical connection between the processor and motherboard, and has to match in both.
As long as the socket fits, chipset shouldnt matter unless you need some features you were not already using. Motherboards with Z97 or H97 chipsets will be a bit more futureproof, so you might as well pick one if its no cost-prohibitive.

Regarding the ASrock Z97 Xtreme6, it appears to be an ATX-sized motherboard so it might not fit in your computer tower in replacement for your current microATX board and leave room for the rest of components.
 

PoetJC

⚧ Jacquii: Kween of Hearts ⚧
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
21,043
LGA 1150 is the physical connection between the processor and motherboard, and has to match in both.
As long as the socket fits, chipset shouldnt matter unless you need some features you were not already using. Motherboards with Z97 or H97 chipsets will be a bit more futureproof, so you might as well pick one if its no cost-prohibitive.

Regarding the ASrock Z97 Xtreme6, it appears to be an ATX-sized motherboard so it might not fit in your computer tower in replacement for your current microATX board and leave room for the rest of components.
I noticed the ASRock board size difference a little bit ago during compatibility research. So it's a no-go. Definitely need a board to fit - so microATX it us then. And wow. Didn't realize matching components would require such a wide berth of knowledge. Eh.. The more you know...

amedia1.tenor.com_images_220711366e9f6f75cf590ae084f6362c_tenor.gif

So yeah. Good to know.
Thanks LeadCrow and everybody else for the knowledge share :love:

J.
 

PoetJC

⚧ Jacquii: Kween of Hearts ⚧
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
21,043
matter unless you need some features you were not already using. Motherboards with Z97 or H97 chipsets will be a bit more futureproof, so you might as well pick one if its no cost-prohibitive
OH yeah. Meant to say that the Z97 chipset motherboards offer SLI as well as other enhancements in functionality. I've been thinking if adding a dual GPU setup actually using 2 970Gtx Asus Strix cards. So - yeah... Nice to know!

J.
 

PoetJC

⚧ Jacquii: Kween of Hearts ⚧
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
21,043
So... 2-and-a-half weeks and $600 later (a new, awesome ThermalTake ATX case, new ASRock Z97 Killer motherboard, new 17-4770 CPU, new Noctua dual-tower CPU cooler, new Apivia 750W power supply) I basically have a new, custom-built computer that's currently running Windows 10 flawlessly. YAY!!!!

I'm looking to add another Asus Strix 970 GPU in the near future ==> Gonna be a kick-ass gaming system.
Thanks again for all the suggestions fellas!!! I appreciate it. Now tis time for another cup of coffee. Got some stuff to do!!!

J.

1.jpg

1b.jpg
 

Soulwatcher

Devotee
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
2,577
So... 2-and-a-half weeks and $600 later (a new, awesome ThermalTake ATX case, new ASRock Z97 Killer motherboard, new 17-4770 CPU, new Noctua dual-tower CPU cooler, new Apivia 750W power supply) I basically have a new, custom-built computer that's currently running Windows 10 flawlessly. YAY!!!!

I'm looking to add another Asus Strix 970 GPU in the near future ==> Gonna be a kick-ass gaming system.
Thanks again for all the suggestions fellas!!! I appreciate it. Now tis time for another cup of coffee. Got some stuff to do!!!

J.

View attachment 49652

View attachment 49653
WHOO HOO! I am so happy that you are finally back online. I missed you around here. :)
 

PoetJC

⚧ Jacquii: Kween of Hearts ⚧
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
21,043
Look like a very good system i like the MB.
Thankis. It's quite nice actually. And I'm wondering if I should try overclocking for better game performance. I'm looking forward to ultra settings running without issue LOL

AND if I can get the mobo software (APP Shop and the F-Stream Tuning utility) to run without any errors - it'd be nice too. Would love to also access Live Update application that came with the motherboard... So I've contacted ASRock tech support and hopefully they'll give me the help that I've been asking for!!

J.
 

we_are_borg

Administrator
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
5,507
Well if you want to OC your system you’ll need to know what you are doing and have a good idea what a stable system is. With OC you can have small issues that later is because you OC’ed your system. You’ll need to be careful if you do not know what you are doing dont do it, the best way you’ll learn is to wait till this system will be replaced and then try if then something happens you still have a working system. I never OC’ed my main system always used the old system.
 
Top