Free Forums owner Questions about Database from

Y2J

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 18, 2013
Messages
152
his thread will help.many ppl.
which FFH sites allow admins to get database ?
1 IFree
2 Zetaboards
3 Icyboards
4 Forumotion
5 Free Forums
 

Andy98

Game Developer
Joined
Nov 4, 2013
Messages
520
Im not exactly educated in this field, but i dont think any of them provide a database, besides forumotion.
 

Darth_Apple

Adherent
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
268
Icyboards and Free forums both allow database exports, although they are not free. (Icyboards charges $20/export, and Free Forums apparently allows it if you upgrade to their "advanced" hosting. )

The other forum hosts that you listed do not allow database exports of any kind, as far as I know.
 

gogoblender

shiny happy pantless
Joined
Feb 20, 2006
Messages
15,296
Icyboards and Free forums both allow database exports, although they are not free. (Icyboards charges $20/export, and Free Forums apparently allows it if you upgrade to their "advanced" hosting. )

The other forum hosts that you listed do not allow database exports of any kind, as far as I know.

Awesome info
even if there's a cost, at least, when trying this hobby out for free, there's the valuable option of finally getting to pay out and get the dbase
Kind of like finally moving out and not paying rent ^^

Thanks Darth

:)

gogo
 

cheat_master30

Moderator
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
3,862
his thread will help.many ppl.
which FFH sites allow admins to get database ?
1 IFree
2 Zetaboards
3 Icyboards
4 Forumotion
5 Free Forums
1. Yes, although it's not free.

2. Not sure. It wasn't available in 2008, but I can't find much from this year or the last few ones.

3. Yes, not free again.

4. With a crawler converter system, like this:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/67216205/Crawler Converters.zip

5. Likely only with a crawler converter system like one linked above.
 

haqzore

Devotee
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
2,363
Free forums does, with "advanced hosting". I moved off of them a few years ago.
 

Y2J

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 18, 2013
Messages
152
can we move get database from both Forumotion and problards via crawler converter ? it's legal ? because no1 wants to pay €50.
 

meetdilip

Tazmanian Master
Joined
Jul 21, 2010
Messages
6,675
I read somewhere that the particular crawler has been taken down as result of request from Proboards.
 

Y2J

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 18, 2013
Messages
152
I read somewhere that the particular crawler has been taken down as result of request from Proboards.
Can i get my Forumotion or proboards forum's database legally ?

Sent from my GT-S5300 using Tapatalk 2
 

cheat_master30

Moderator
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
3,862
I read somewhere that the particular crawler has been taken down as result of request from Proboards.
Maybe the original creator took it down, but I disagreed and archived it for future reference.

So it's not gone any more, since I have an original copy which I most definitely do not feel like removing, complaints by free forum hosts or no complaints by free forum hosts.
 

marcgo15

Adherent
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
326
Can i get my Forumotion or proboards forum's database legally ?

Sent from my GT-S5300 using Tapatalk 2
Yes proboards doesn't want people using converters like that on their services.
 

marcgo15

Adherent
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
326
Maybe the original creator took it down, but I disagreed and archived it for future reference.

So it's not gone any more, since I have an original copy which I most definitely do not feel like removing, complaints by free forum hosts or no complaints by free forum hosts.
I agree with you. A lot of times members don't know that they'll never be able to leave that host. Even if it's a free forum host, you still work hard to build your content and should be able to a different software if you choose.
 
Top