"EARN IT" Act

MagicalAzareal

Magical Developer

Actual legal text:

This looks like an early, early draft to me, but Congress is up-to something which could have some very big ramifications on intermediary liability. It's unknown whether they will make AI filters mandatory or not, although it would seem very likely given the recent rhetoric.

It would seem that officers of providers of interactive service providers have to conduct annual audits to ensure that their systems and operations are in compliance with the "best practices" enacted by the law. If they lie, then they will be subject to two years in prison. Interactive computer services will have a year to come into compliance with the "best practices" after they're initially passed. As always, I am not a lawyer.

I personally think this law is more sabre-rattling than anything else and will die a terrible death without ever being passed, but I've set up a few contingency plans for if it does come into force.

One possibility of what they might enact, it's not entirely unlikely, although who knows.

MagicalAzareal

Magical Developer
More information has come to light!

Newest Bill: https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/senate-bill/3398/text

Related Links:

MagicalAzareal

Magical Developer
In my personal opinion, this is a very strangely worded bill, it talks about "voluntary acts" which are compelled by weight of law (otherwise it meets the criteria of "reckless conduct")? Is this an attempt to get around the Constitution? I can't say for sure because I'm not a lawyer, but it is just very, very strange to me.