Cloud hosting vs Web hosting

AbbyNormal

Neophyte
Hi all,

Looking forward to talking with you all since I plan to finally start my own site. I've been learning a bit here and there since 2009, but have a lot to figure out. I'm usually the "trial and error" type, and that works well to an extent, but I'd like to get off on the right foot in some areas I feel are most important.

I want to go with Hostgator, but when I went there, I say they have something I hadn't known about until today, cloud hosting. It sounds so much better/reliable, so I would like to talk to you about that on this thread.

I'll give you some basics about what I want to build (using a Simple Machines Template). A social forum with no other focus than topics that senior citizens are interested in. I am a senior myself, and have belonged to two, such forums, and I have what I think are good ideas on how to improve on forum.

I can tell you I am building this site for fun, not money, but at the same time, if it generates income one day, I wouldn't turn it down;)

I guess my biggest concern is having enough space if I go with a regular web hosting plan. I imagine I will have 20 or fewer friends join, and expect it could take a year before it might grow any larger. So I'm thinking either the Hatchling Cloud plan, or the normal Hatchling plan. I know the difference between a mb and gb but really don't know how much a forum needs.

Any feedback, or suggestions are welcome;) I am very teachable, and plan to remain that way;)

Localnode

Neophyte
I want to go with Hostgator, but when I went there, I say they have something I hadn't known about until today, cloud hosting. It sounds so much better/reliable, so I would like to talk to you about that on this thread.
Hostgator is EIG. EIG are notoriously bad. Choose a different host.Avoid EIG - a list of brands they own (not complete) can be viewed here.