CiviCRM

darnoldy

Curmudgeon
Sure. I won't say I'm an expert, but I've gotten my hands dirty in it for my engineering society at university.
Matthew S I moved the discussion here, since it seemed a drift for the original, and we are talking about a WP plug-in.

So, the first thing I'm interested in doing is generating a phone list. I don't want to give everybody access to all of the contact info, but I would like to display names, phone extension, and maybe email address on a page that is publicly- or semi-publicly visible. Is there an api that can be used to create such lists? On a different site?

--don

Matthew S

Adherent
So, the first thing I'm interested in doing is generating a phone list. I don't want to give everybody access to all of the contact info, but I would like to display names, phone extension, and maybe email address on a page that is publicly- or semi-publicly visible. Is there an api that can be used to create such lists? On a different site?

--don
Contact management is what CiviCRM does best. Yes, you can create reports of contacts that include anything you have a field for, sorted, ordered and filtered by almost any combination. If you don't have a field or group for something you need, you just create them. For example, we use four basic contact types : Undergraduates, Postgraduates, Academics, and Industry. We often pull contact reports on each separately, but each individual contact is simply differentiated by entries in their record.

There are template reports to get you started, and new reports can be saved as a template so you don't have to create them each time. You can customise the layout, and also permissions of who can access the report. An option for access includes unauthenticated users.